Groundhog Day Reflections

On this Groundhog Day, Punxsutawney Phil, Seer of Seers, Prognosticator of all Prognosticators has proclaimed six more weeks of winter. Now that we all know that we’ll be shivering for a few more weeks, let’s reflect today on the classic movie Groundhog Day.

 For those who haven’t seen it, Bill Murray repeats the same day (Groundhog Day) over and over, stuck in a rut, and unable to escape. He starts off arrogant and jaded from the day-to-day events of his life. Yet, by the end of the movie, he learns a valuable lesson to make each day matter and find  more creativity and compassion in his life. Once he learns his lesson, he wakes up from his ever-repeating day.

 As a small business owner and the mom of two young boys, it can be really easy to fall into a rut similar to the misanthropic lead character in Groundhog Day. Everyday is full of scheduling, chores, lists, and getting things done. Sometimes, I can honestly say that weeks go by, and it all seems a blur.

 This year, I have vowed to be more creative, spend more time reflecting on life, and enjoying the little things that make each day so special. I know that I’m incredibly fortunate to be able to work from home and spend so much time with my kids and my husband. This is why I want to slow things down just a little so that I can appreciate all the little moments that make up my life.  

 I also hope that this renewed focus on the positives in my life will help my business. If all I’m doing is answering calls, sending emails, and meeting deadlines, I won’t have time to figure out my goals, ambitions, and dreams. I won’t find new ways to be better for my clients or discover new business opportunities. My success is contingent on me making the time to plot my future growth and create the business I want.

 So, on this Groundhog Day, I’m hoping to make the most of it and not make it just a repeat of yesterday and the day before. I hope you will, too!   

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

