Do Freelancers Really Have Weekends?

Last night after dinner, my husband and I were enjoying some rare downtime watching one of our favorite shows Anthony Bourdain: No Reservations. What a life Anthony has. He travels around the world on someone else’s dime. Chefs everywhere swoon over him inviting him and his crew to their restaurants for free gourmet meals. He writes best-selling books, and he has his own show on the Travel Channel to boot! He’s also oddly attractive in that East Coast, smart-ass kind of way that only a West Coast gal like me would find intriguing. Now that I’m writing this, I think I need to devote an entire blog entry to this favorite TV personality of mine. …Will add that to my “to do” list.

 Anyway, although I was watching the show intently as Anthony gorged himself on absurdly large amounts of roasted pork swimming in artery-clogging brown gravy on his culinary tour of Prague, my mind began to drift towards work. On my infamous “to-do” list, I have about ten projects that I’m currently working on. We’re also having friends over for dinner tonight, so that means the afternoon will be full of cleaning, cooking, and getting the boys ready. And, lest we forget, tomorrow is Super Bowl Sunday.

  I personally don’t like football, but my husband does. This means he’ll be firmly planted in front of the TV for the majority of the day watching the pre-pre-game show, the pre-game show, the game, and the after-game commentary. I’ll probably tune in during half-time to see if another Janet Jackson boob incident happens, but that’s about my limit in watching Super Bowl coverage.

 What I’ll be doing instead is working. I hate to say it but I work every weekend. It’s out of necessity to keep up on what I need to get done, but I also enjoy it. When I had a full-time office job, I counted the days and hours until the weekend and never thought of bringing home work. No way! Now, I almost always work Saturdays and Sundays, and I’m not alone. Everyone I know who has their own business does exactly the same thing.

 Without an employer to establish working hours, you naturally develop your own schedule that can be quite different to the traditional Monday through Friday routine. I don’t think though that I’m a workaholic because I have this odd schedule. Instead, I’ve had to adapt my work schedule to fit in with the other aspects of my life – kids, husband, chores, exercise, etc. So, if I have to work on Super Bowl Sunday, I might take next Wednesday afternoon off to go shopping for a new pair of shoes. Or, I might halt my workday a little early one day to make homemade pizza with my two young, budding culinary geniuses.

 Sure, there are definitely times when I’m jealous of my husband’s ability to unwind on a weekend. His employer has given him a set schedule that allows him to focus on work during the week and relax on the weekend. But, my free form schedule works for me and my business. And, our boys get exposed to both our ways of working which will give them a great deal of insight into the fact that there’s more than one way to be successful.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

