The Girl Effect

Yesterday, my friend and colleague Barbara Carneiro sent me a wonderful video from a growing movement called The Girl Effect. The video highlights the reality that real social and economic change will only happen when girls in developing nations are given a chance to succeed.

 Here are some interesting yet sad facts:

 38 percent of girls in developing countries marry before the age of 18.

 One-quarter to one-half of girls in these countries become mothers before the age of 18.

 Pregnancy is the leading cause of death among girls ages 15 through 19 worldwide.

 And some positive facts….

 Girls in the developing world who receive seven or more years of education marry four years later and have 2.2 fewer children.

 Educated girls grow into educated women who have healthier babies that they are more likely to educate.

 A woman, on average, reinvests 90 percent of what she earns back into her family compared to 30 to 40 percent for a man.

 An extra year of secondary school boasts girls’ future wages by 15 to 25 percent.

 As someone who has traveled throughout many developing countries, I’ve seen firsthand the reality for girls who are not given the opportunity to succeed. I hope this movement gains ground and gets support from many. I know I’m unbelievably lucky to have the freedom to be able to have my own business and have the support of the people around me. It’s my obligation to help others who aren’t so lucky. So, I’ll be doing my part.

 Take a look

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “The Girl Effect

  1. Baby Boy

    This was spot on Baby especially with all of your travels. Very proud of you to post.

    XOXO
    BB

Leave a Reply

