What Do Tiger Woods and Scarlet Fever Have in Common?

Courtesy of Getty Images

Last Sunday, our five year old Rex developed an odd rash on his cheeks. Since we had just slathered him with sunscreen the day before his symptoms began, my husband Randy and I initially thought that he was suffering from a mild allergic reaction.

 Over the next several days, Rex’s rash spread over his entire face and down his back. He also started complaining of headaches and nausea. As any good mother would do, I started searching on the Internet. From conducting my online research, I began narrowing down illnesses. Quickly, I focused on a couple of possibilities.

 Then, I had remembered that the school nurse had sent a letter home the previous week stating that one of Rex’s classmates had unfortunately been suffering from strep throat, and I quickly began to piece together a possible diagnosis. Could it be scarlet fever? My husband gasped at the possibility, and I began to panic. This highly contagious infection caused by the streptococcus bacteria was a distinct possibility.

 The very next day, I brought Rex to his pediatrician and, lo and behold, it was scarlet fever. His throat culture was positive. The doctor wasn’t overly worked up though, and he quickly scribbled a prescription for antibiotics. “He’ll be better in ten days, and make sure to get him a new toothbrush,” he said. That was it.

 Rex is still red and itchy, but he’s now on the road to recovery. …And, I found out that this historic illness that ran rampant during the Civil War and was a leading cause of death until 1960 is now making a surging comeback in the Scottsdale School District.

 What the heck does any of this have to do with Tiger Woods? Well, I think this story has a lot of similarities to his current dilemma. The world’s golden boy of golf had us all fooled just like my son’s mystery illness had my husband and I misguided.

Tiger won the tournaments, said the right things, married the perfect woman, and had the life that so many of us envied. But, in reality, he wasn’t anything like what he portrayed.

 Tiger had fans of all ages convinced that he was some higher form of being. However, after watching his bizarre sex addiction story play out and his horribly stilted speed yesterday, we all realized that he is just a sad, misguided individual who apparently didn’t appreciate any of the gifts that were bestowed upon him.

 The moral of this week is that things aren’t always what they appear to be. Whether it’s in business or personal life, sometimes it takes a little discovery before you find out the truth.

 I’m a firm believer in searching for answers and learning as much as I can before forming an opinion. In the case of my son, if I had settled with the notion that he had an allergy to sunscreen, he could be well on his way to acquiring rheumatic fever, a chronic, progressive condition of the heart and valves that is directly related to scarlet fever. And in the case of Tiger Woods, I’m a little more suspicious of public figures that look too good to be true. No one is perfect, and those who go out of their way of trying to convince others that they are should be especially concerning to all of us mere mortals.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “What Do Tiger Woods and Scarlet Fever Have in Common?

  1. Baby Boy

    You are the best detective!

Leave a Reply

