$3400 for Unneeded Repairs – Fletcher’s Tire and Auto Service in Scottsdale, Arizona – You Picked on the Wrong Customers!

No one likes taking their car in for service, and there is a very clear reason why. Far too many businesses involved in the service of vehicles use dishonest practices to generate profits. No one would expect to be taken advantage of by their local grocery store, hair stylist or dry cleaner, Yet, I think most of us assume that auto repair shops will do this most of the time if they can get away with it.

 Too many operate with the mind set that they need to squeeze the most money out of customers for services regardless if they’re needed or not. And, most customers are clueless when it comes to repairs. The outcome – the industry has a completely warranted horrible reputation that hurts the service providers who are on the up and up.

 Case in point – Yesterday, we took our car into Fletcher’s Tire and Auto Services in Scottsdale for an oil change. That’s all we thought we needed. One hour after dropping it off, I received a call from the customer service rep. and he stated that they found that we also needed a new battery and had a leak in a hose to the power steering. It sounded a little suspicious, but Randy asked them to call back when they had an estimate for the “needed repair” work. Another half an hour later, they called back. Guess what? Now, the shocks and struts also needed to be replaced. They were apparently leaking according to them…. The total estimate for the work that they claimed needed to be done immediately – $3400.00.

 What???!!!???

 We went from a $20.00 oil change to a $3400.00 repair estimate in a matter of two hours. What the heck did Fletcher’s think we were going to do? They must have been banking on us giving the go-ahead on the repairs. How ridiculous of them to think that we weren’t going to get a second opinion.

 Well, we pulled our car out of there so fast their heads nearly spun. I contacted several other service centers and decided to get an estimate from Greulich’s Automotive Services because they were AAA approved. Mike at Greulich’s was patient, asked a bunch of questions, and said right away that he would look it over with no obligation.

 Once at Greulich’s, Mike lifted our Chrysler Pacifica up and had a look. Instantly, he said, “Your shocks and struts are fine. Let’s look at the other things.”

 One by one he carefully looked each “problem” over and determined that the battery was fine, the power steering issue was non-existent, and the only things we really needed were a flush of fluids and new tires.

 If Fletcher’s had been honest with us, they would have had our business for these services. Instead, they made up a bunch of unnecessary repairs hoping to jack up the repair bill. They lost a customer who will now share this story with many.

 Greulich’s, on the other hand, has now earned a loyal customer who appreciates their straightforwardness.

 This little story isn’t just about car repairs. It’s about business and life in general. Being dishonest might win you a small gain in the near term with a hand full of customers. But, it will always come back to bite you in the butt in the long run.

 There simply is no excuse for trying to take advantage of customers or charge them for work that isn’t needed. I say let’s salute the honest car repair people out there and give them our business and spread the word about all of the con artist providers who I hope will get their just desserts over time.

 A song by John Lennon dedicated to Fletcher’s on 90th Street in Scottsdale. I hope they’ll take a listen!

14 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

14 responses to “$3400 for Unneeded Repairs – Fletcher’s Tire and Auto Service in Scottsdale, Arizona – You Picked on the Wrong Customers!

  1. Baby Boy

    Great story! Next up will be the Better Business Bureau!

  2. Steve

    I have had the same experience with another Fletcher tire in Chandler. They are the worst company. They do not stand by their repairs and will actuallt break things on your car and then say that it came in that way!

  3. James

    FLETCHERS TIRE AND AUTO….YOU SUCK !!! Any other complaints from my FB buddies?
    .by *********** on Monday, January 10, 2011 at 8:30am.Has anyone else had a BAD experience when dealing with FLETCHERS TIRE STORES ???? Please send your comments. I’ld like to put a ding in against them with the Better Business Bureau. Spent $186 for 1 tire on my Pontiac G6 and by the time I got home it was flat. Once befroe thet tried selling us a Rack & Pinion setip for the front end and nothing was wrong with it. I had to buy a new tire because when I got my original flat ture on Ironwood and Guadalupe, there is no safe place to pull off and change it so I had to ride on it to get to the Chevron Station at Baseline and Ironwood. They would not cover the tire under warranty. I think my life is worth more than a friggin’ tire !!!!!! FLETCHERS TIRE AND AUTO…U SUCK !

    .LikeUnlike · Comment · Share · Delete

    Julz A Bee well that just blows!

    52 minutes ago · LikeUnlike.Adrian W Genesi In addition, they made me drive all day on the little spare because they diddn’t have my tire in stock. …….6 hours later, I had my car back and drove home, only to find it flat within hours.

    • Sorry, you had such a tough time with Fletchers. Since writing this blog post, I’ve had many people write me with similar stories. Yikes! Since then, we’ve been going to Gruelichs. So far, so good.

  4. MIKE BEJAR

    I took my pickup to a Fletchers here in Tucson for an oil change. I also ended up with an alignment as I was told it needed pretty badly.
    The following weekend, just to check up on Fletchers honesty, I took same pickup to another Fletchers, also in Tucson, for an “alignment”. I never mentioned I had had an “alignment” the previous weekend by their Company. I instructed them to call me if work ineeded to be done..

    They called me back and told me “allignment” was really needed I asked for the witten service order. When I presented them the previous bill and performance………they stayed with opened mouths and said 2nd technician had made estimate mistake!!!!!!!!!

    • Fletcher’s is a terrible place. I’ve heard such horrible stories since writing this post. I’m sorry you had a bad experience, too. Hopefully, someone will read my post before getting screwed by them.

  5. Dave A.

    This is so obviously written by an employee of Gruelichs it is sickening. Don’t you people see that. Everybody makes mistakes and everbody is entitled to second opinions. They should have taken the Chrysler to another Fletchers for a second opinion then they would have legitamised thier complaint. Just as Mike did.
    I am in the repair business (not Fletchers) and know how customers over exagerate the issue.
    So poop on you…

    • Yeah, you can really tell from the blog Dave that I’m an employee of Greulich’s. Not a very bright comment! Nor, is the suggestion that I should have taken our car to another Fletcher’s. Why on Earth would I do that if I’ve had problems with one. It sounds like you’re more likely to be an employee of Fletcher’s, and if you are, I hope you can improve their customer service. However, that appears doubtful by the tone of your comment.

  6. Andreas Langley

    Hi there,

    This is about Fletcher’s on Silverbell and Cortaro in North Tucson/Marana. August 9th, 2012.

    I just got my 1998 Dodge Ram 1500 back. I brought it to Fletchers here on Cortaro and Silverbell. I brought it in because the truck made a clunk when shifting and when I inspected it underneath I also saw that much of the front end was looking old. When I brought it in they gave me an estimate for $1800 and telling me it would take care of all the issues on the front end and the clunk in the rear.

    I called back and asked them if they could do the job for $1400 and they agreed. When I picked it up my truck today, the sales person told me all excited how they fixed the front end but they really heard a big clunk when shifting. I almost lost it. When I paid the bill the other sales person Tom told me the reason that they lowered the price to $1400 was because they did not fix half of the stuff that was on the original estimate. I was going into mental overdrive. I said nobody told me this and that I was under the impression that everything was going to get fixed. He called in his other sales person Dan again who then told me that the original estimate was higher because he quoted me for repairs on a Dodge Ram 1994 and when he found out that it was a 1998 that there are less parts on the front end and that was the reason that he brought the price down. I was so angry I was trembling and paid and just wanted to get out. Now I am driving with a truck that still has the same issue that I originally brought it in for. They cheated on the initial estimate and they did not inspect my truck with care. They left me with the impression that everything on the estimate was being repaired for a lower price.

    I would like to know if there is anyone at Fletchers who really cares about issues like this and customers like me and would like to save their reputation so that they may have a prosperous business. They have no future.

  7. Very true that not only does this apply in business, but in life in general as well.

  8. Rebecca

    Every single time I’ve gone in to get my oil changed they’ve given me a list of things that are wrong with my car. I have taken my car to numerous other places- and none of them have agreed with their opinion. I wish we had never bought the oil change card for 80 dollars. I don’t want to return to redeem the remaining changes. I would prefer to pay 20-30 dollars elsewhere. Fletchers needs to be honest with their customers.
    I think it would be great to have a few customers planted hidden cameras within their cars and see what kind of things are going on behind the scenes. I feel this place can’t be trusted.

  9. Rebecca

    Every single time I’ve gone in to get my oil changed they’ve given me a list of things that are wrong with my car. I have taken my car to numerous other places- and none of them have agreed with their opinion. I wish we had never bought the oil change card for 80 dollars. I don’t want to return to redeem the remaining changes. I would prefer to pay 20-30 dollars elsewhere. Fletchers needs to be honest with their customers.
    I think it would be great to have a few customers plant hidden cameras within their cars, and see what kind of things are going on behind the scenes. I feel this place can’t be trusted. I should have figured it out when they were selling a bunch of oil changes for such a low price!

  10. Max Hartinger

    There are three main criteria used in pricing any given auto repair. The first is the labor rate, or what the shop charges for the time and expertise that goes into repairing your vehicle. The second is for the parts themselves, and whatever other shop support materials are used in the process of the repair. The third area to consider are the fixed costs or overhead that the repair shop has to cover, but that doesn’t get reflected on your bill..

    Current content provided by our web page
    <.http://www.prettygoddess.com

Leave a Reply

