Why Can’t Rod Blagojevich Type? A Life Lesson from Celebrity Apprentice

Last Sunday, I settled into bed and turned on yet another one of my TV favorites – Celebrity Apprentice. I’m really enjoying watching Cindy Lauper, and Sharon Osborne. The Australian chef Curtis Stone has been one of my faves for a while. …Love the show Take Home Chef on TLC. However, there are also some real doozies this season, especially in the men’s group “Rock Solid”. What a name for this group of jokers.  

 Darryl Strawberry explained in this latest episode that he was so exhausted to get up at 6 in the morning. He whined and then basically quit the show. It seems to me that if he had any motivation to win money for his charity he could have gotten his butt out of bed. …And, we’re supposed to be impressed by this guy’s athletic ability. Hey Darryl – I get up at 4 AM every day and run before you even roll out of bed.

 Then, there was Rod Blagojevich or “Blago” as he’s fondly called. Poor, poor Blago – The former Governor of Illinois, arrested on corruption charges. The guy with hair that’s even more startling than Donald Trump’s coif. My opinion of this dork was formulated in one hot second on the show.

 The guy can’t type.

 He was hunting and pecking like a free range chicken while the other guys stood by and watched. A really big Hunh??????

 How on Earth do you become the governor of a state, a state representative and a prosecutor if you can’t type? Something is seriously wrong with this picture. There’s much scuddlebutt about how his father-in-law helped him climb the ranks of politics. If I had been his father-in-law, I think I would have purchased him a copy of “Mavis Beacon Teaches Typing” and told him to take a hike.

 There’s simply no excuse for not being able to use the basics of technology. It’s not cute, and it’s not funny. It’s just plain stupid. I don’t care if you’re an entry level administrative, a doctor, or the governor, if you can’t type, turn on a computer, use the Internet, or send an email – you’re either incredibly lazy or an idiot. Maybe both!

 What was Blago’s excuse? Unapologetically, he said, “There’s a whole lot of technology that’s passed me by. That’s one of the things where when you’re governor, over 60,000 people work for you, and they pretty much research for you. And, before that I was a congressman, and I never had to learn it.”

 What about when you were an attorney or a student, Blago?? I could do 60 WPM on my “Brother International” typewriter at Carlmont High when I was 15. Apparently technology didn’t pass me by.

 I hear it all the time from people how they can’t figure technology out. They don’t understand social media, blogs, email, the Internet, and on and on. Ok, I didn’t have it all figured out at first either. But, I took the time to learn, and as technology evolves, I will continue to learn. I don’t want to be a “Blago” and I think it’s absolutely ridiculous for anyone to not understand the basics of technology when it’s everywhere in our culture.

Blago, you probably disappointed many with your shady deals in Illinois, but you really hit a chord with this blogger when you justified your ineptness.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Why Can’t Rod Blagojevich Type? A Life Lesson from Celebrity Apprentice

  1. Baby Boy

    Rex can type faster than Blago!

Leave a Reply

