Analysis Paralysis – The Killer of Small Business Dreams

I have a confession to make. When I started my business, I had no plan. I hadn’t done my homework to see if it was feasible. And, I had no other goals than to be able to work from home, write, and make money. That was it! I definitely didn’t follow the generally accepted business advice of plan first and then launch.  Without all of the information and not knowing my options, I jumped in.

What if I had diligently prepared a plan, sought out advice from experts, and carefully mapped out my projections for the next five years? My guess is that I would have either been dissuaded to even start the business or so overwhelmed by information that I would have procrastinated for years.

Instead, I sat down at my computer and tried to get business. It wasn’t any more complicated than that. I had confidence in my abilities, had big aspirations, and some major reasons to get started quickly (read my about me page to learn what those were).  

Perhaps, I’ve paid the price of not planning. I’ve had my fair share of stumbles along the way. But, I now have a business. If I had taken the traditional approach, I might very well be sitting in an office park working a job that’s not right for me.

Is my approach to starting a business the best choice for everyone? Probably not. But, I do truly believe that there are some very talented individuals out there who should be in business for themselves who instead are suffering from analysis paralysis. They can’t get past the planning stage to see their idea come to fruition. And, that’s too bad!

Certainly, I understand why they’re doing what they’re doing. No one wants to fail. And, there’s an absurdly large amount of business advice available out there. You could literally have a full-time job simply reading all of the online articles, blog posts, and tips out there written by the business gurus of the moment. However, at the end of the day, it’s all just someone else’s opinions. And sometimes, turning down their incessant noise is the best way to get the clarity you need to start working.

So, for those who have good ideas that have been sitting on the sidelines planning and not implementing, this business owner says start working even if you don’t have all of your analysis completed. If you don’t, you might just miss your opportunity altogether.

Leave a comment

Filed under entrepreneurs, moms, small business, public relations

Leave a Reply

