Flipping Out Trying to Keep Up with Technology

With all that’s happening in social media, cloud computing, telecommunications, etc. etc., it’s getting next to impossible to keep up with it all. I’m finding that I’m darn near spending as much time trying to learn about the latest and greatest as I am actually working. I’m literally becoming less productive trying to figure out how to use all of the new tools that improve productivity.

When I first seriously entered the workforce in 1992, I used a computer monitor that had a very basic program that I used for order entry. My phone had a cord, and there were printers and photocopiers that were the size of refrigerators. That was about it! I subsequently learned the basics of graphic design, mastered Microsoft Office, dabbled on Apple computers, then came the Internet and email. But, somewhere between when I began enjoying the benefits of online shopping in the mid 1990s and now, things began to move faster than I could keep up.

All of a sudden, I had to be on LinkedIn, Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, understand social bookmarking, SEO, SEM, Web 2.0, PPC, SaaS, VoIP, and so on and so on. Before I could say tout de suite, I was behind on Hoot Suite.

I honestly want to keep up with every post on Mashable, read every tweet by Guy Kawasaki, master the latest edition of WordPress. I really do. But, my butt is beginning to hurt and my eyes are starting to cross from sitting far too much in front of my laptop.

I wish that I could just get a once a month Cliff Notes version of what I need to know about technology, so that I can blissfully write and not feel guilty that I’m becoming woefully outdated.

Don’t get me wrong, I love technology. In fact, I love it much more now than I did in the 1990s when it seemed far too technical and not very user-friendly. I want to stay current, but I just don’t have the time to follow every hot new startup that makes social media faster, more integrated, and easier to analyze.

Can we just slow things down a bit so that I can catch up on Top Chef, Project Runway (how I love Tim Gunn), my favorite Housewives, and Flipping Out. I can relate to Jeff Lewis right now, because if I have to figure out how to use yet another online tool this week, I’m going to flip out too.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

