Using the Top of My Car as a Workstation Proves to Be a Costly Mistake

I have a very bad habit of leaving items on top of my car.  I’m embarrassed that this is such a problem for me. It’s a clear indicator that I’m a bit scattered. Today, it was my cell phone that slid off the roof of my Pacifica as I drove 50 mph down Shea Blvd. after dropping my son off at preschool. I heard the telltale clunk as it flew away, and then I saw it in my rearview mirror as it hit the road and broke into a multitude of pieces before it was run over by the car behind me. My poor excuse was that I was rather preoccupied by a situation with a client.

In the last five years or so, I’ve lost my home phone, keys, numerous pieces of mail, bottles, sippy cups, a sweater, sunglasses, lots of fast food cups, and now my cell phone – all by leaving them on the roof of my car and then unknowingly driving away.

Why do I do this? Well, the scenario usually starts with me getting my boys in or out of their car seats. While doing this, I put the things I’m carrying on top of the car. Then, I get distracted with something else, and whamo! The problem is that I forget about these things as quickly as I set them down.

It signals to me that I’m multitasking too much and not focused on the tasks at hand. Today, it was a costly mistake, and I am now vowing to take it a little bit slower so that I don’t lose any more items in my own personal Bermuda Triangle – otherwise known as the roof of my car.

I will call T-Mobile tomorrow and tell them my tale of woe. I’m sure I’m not the only person guilty of this bad habit. But, hopefully I can finally learn my lesson now. If you’re trying to reach me on my cell phone for the next few days and run into difficulty, you now know the reason why.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

