Flexibility!

Today’s post isn’t about the type of flexibility you need for yoga. …As much as I’d love to tell you about my yoga experiences in India, I’ll save that for another day.  No, it’s about being flexible with what you do.

When you see reports about the poor individuals who are unemployed and have been looking for work for months, and in some cases, years, I hear a common theme to their plight. They have been doing the SAME THING for a really long time. When they lost their job, they were unequipped to do anything else. For some, those “jobs” are gone, and will never come back. Maybe, it’s time for a different mindset.

Just as any financial planner will tell investors, you need to diversify. And, I personally think that a diversified skill set is the most powerful and useful thing that you can have in life. When you have a multitude of skills that you can rely on, you widen your opportunities and certainly offer more to employers than those who have narrower focuses.

My career has in no way, shape, or form been a clear path, it’s been wildly diversified. From corn dog fryer, ice cream scooper, mail clerk, and fit model to learning how to repair refrigerators, customer service rep, PBX operator, flower shop manager, regular dancer on KOFY Dance Party to marketing manager, technical writer, adventure traveler, wine importer, business owner, and of course, MOM – I’ve had my fair share of occupations. Whew! Now, here’s a visual walk down memory lane for your viewing pleasure!

See! I am really flexible - 1979!

Ready to Fry Corn Dogs at Marine World at 16.

On the runway modeling a really ugly dress in 1990

Disco Dancing at a 70s themed Work Party @ 1998

Traveling from Delhi to Vienna in 2001

And my favorite job - Being Mom to Rex and Judd

 And thank goodness for that! All of my experiences have led me to where I’m at today. And, now I get to write about it. I’m looking forward to what’s next. Who knows what that holds? But, I’m going to be flexible enough to find out!

On a personal note, a BIG CONGRATULATIONS to my friend and neighbor GINA on her new job!

Now, here’s an old clip from KOFY Dance Party. I know I was on this particular show, but I’m NOT the girl with the very unfortunate pair of jeans on stage. I was always respectful enough to wear vintage polyester disco garb, but apparently I made the cutting room floor for this clip.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

