Skype Video Etiquette

Today, I experienced a first. I witnessed someone pick their nose while they chatted with me on Skype. After I calmed down from being thoroughly grossed out, I gave this some thought. I do lots of things while on the phone that perhaps I wouldn’t want everyone to see. No, I’m not typically a nose picker, but I have been known to help boys’ go potty, get dressed, put on makeup, pluck my brows, floss, clean up cat vomit, etc. while on the phone with clients. I work from home, so the day-to-day, personal and family-related issues don’t disappear just because I’m working. However, with Skype Video, it’s all hanging out there for you to see. And, I’m not sure I want to see it!

So, in response to the nose picking incident, I thought I would run down a list of what I don’t want to see while I’m chatting with you on Skype.

I’ll Start with Nose Picking
Ok, I see enough of this while driving. Old men in Scottsdale love to pick their noses while waiting for the light to turn “green”. It’s gross, and I’m working on getting my two sons to stop with this bad habit. I certainly don’t want to see a wired version of the nose pick on Skype!

Burping
Perhaps, you had a giant lunch plate of Pad Thai or just drank a beer. But, I don’t want to see or hear your indigestion. I think I can literally smell it via my high-speed internet connection. If you’re gassy, touch bases with me later, please.

Scratching
Unless you have a terrible case of poison oak, I don’t want to see you scratch your ears, scalp, or whiskers. Yuck!

Undershirts
Just because we’re chatting on Skype, doesn’t mean that we’re best buddies. I don’t want to see you in your undies. Business casual is good to go with this VoIP gal.

Chatting with Others
If you’re chatting with coworkers at the same time you’re conversing to me, I don’t know who the hell you’re talking to. It’s irritating, and I might just hang up!

Bare Chests
Gasp! Ok, this hasn’t happened yet, but it’s only a matter of time. If a client Skype’s me without a shirt on, I’m taking a screen shot and posting it on Facebook.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Skype Video Etiquette

  1. Mom

    Julie…
    Where did I go wrong?

Leave a Reply

