Social Media Brings Down the Last of the Soup Nazis

If you read my last blog post, you know that I had a falling out with the owner of Uncle Sam’s in Scottsdale. To recap, my son was burned by an outdoor flood light, and the owner basically said “tough sh**, it’s not my problem.” I’m paraphrasing what he said, but this was the gist of it.

After writing about the incident on my blog, I posted it on Facebook, Twitter, Yelp, and a variety of other places. I also went to the restaurant’s Facebook page and encouraged their “fans” to read my blog and provided the link to it. In less than 12 hours, I’ve had over 100 people read this post. I know because I have the stats to prove it. Some of my friends have even offered to retweet and repost my story. Thanks guys!

This got me thinking… Did the owner of Uncle Sam’s in Scottsdale (yes, I’m incorporating this name for SEO purposes) think for a hot second (no pun intended) that I would tell anyone about this situation? How stupid is this guy? If you value your business, you just can’t afford to be a jerk anymore. The days are over that you can get away with this. Now, every customer has a global forum to express their opinion.

Before social media, you could complain about a problem, and if you were lucky, you got to speak to a manager. If the person was nice, you’d be lucky to get a free meal. That was the end of the dialogue. Now, the conversation can be continued and shared with countless others.  Literally, one customer can bring down a business.

Bad food will be discussed on Yelp and crappy behavior will be pointed out on blogs and Facebook. You just can’t get away with dismissing a customer anymore. This brings me to the point of this post. Perhaps, we are seeing the dawn of a new age when it is simply impossible to get away with poor customer service.

Perhaps, Elaine on Seinfield needed to put up with the Soup Nazi’s crap back in the 1990s if she wanted her bowl. But, the Soup Nazi can no longer exist in 2010 where he will be tattled on across multiple social media platforms.

To Uncle Sam’s Restaurant – You can spend thousands of dollars sending out coupons in Money Mailers hoping to attract new business. However, all will be lost if you can’t manage your reputation by delivering decent service and a safe dining environment.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Social Media Brings Down the Last of the Soup Nazis

  1. Kim

    You go!!! I love it.

    I think that small businesses can really capitalize on social media in ways that larger corporations perhaps cannot. But unfortunately, the flip side to that coin is that social media will often ruin small businesses by not being mindful of the importance of customer service. In fact, it’s more important than ever given the “citizen journalism” that exists nowadays.

    Good for you! And good luck in your son’s recovery – hope it isn’t scarring.

    Best,
    Kim

Leave a Reply

