So Much to Give Thanks for on Thanksgiving

Ok, I promise an amusing post about Skating with the Stars probably later today if I get my pre-holiday chores done. I’m still so amazed by Johnny Weir’s sequined costume with the enormous heart-shaped collar and his interpretive skating routing to Lady GaGa’s Poker Face that I’ve had to take a couple of days to digest the entertainment overload. Lest we forget Dick Button – a true national treasure.

But, with Thanksgiving nearly here and as I pull out the Wedgwood, Waterford, and sterling flatware for my feast I’m whipping up, I thought it would be a good time to ponder what I’m thankful for. …And, there’s a lot.

Of course, I’m ever so thankful for all the wonderful people in my life who put up with me and my never-ending pursuit to be a good mom, business owner, blogger, and media star (ok, maybe not a media star, but you can’t deny my 15 minutes of fame after I was mentioned in an MSNBC article about itchy ears).

And, I’m also thankful for so many little things that make my life wonderful. Here are just a few of them in no particular order:

75 cent refills of iced tea at A.J.s. with my reusable insulated cup

The amazingly funny things that my two boys say all of the time

The trail behind my subdivision that allows me to run fast and clear my brain

The DVR button on my remote that lets me catch up on all my favorites like Beverly Hills Housewives and Top Chef

My husband doing the dishes after I cook dinner

The new, faster mailman who now delivers the mail at 11AM instead of 6:30PM

Starbucks drive-thru

Chatting with Mom about Dancing with the Stars

The incredibly low produce prices at Sprouts (I can even overlook the world’s most irritating drivers who seem to continuously circle this grocery store’s parking lot)

My iPod and record collection

How the Captain cuddles in bed with me in the morning

The upcoming royal wedding

Youtube so that I can play 1980s new wave videos for the boys

The shoe department at Marshalls

Swiffers

Chipotle when I am too tired to cook (No, it’s not a good California taqueria, but it works in a pinch)

The 2 lb bag of still warm yellow corn tortillas at Ranch Market on Roosevelt

My beat-up Adidas running shoes that I just can’t throw out

The greeter at Fry’s who always asks how my kids are doing

The English muffins at Oakville Grocery

Arizona sunrises, sunsets, puffy clouds, and that neat smell after it rains

Facebook as I have connected with lots of old friends and have even made some new ones on there

Omega 3 chewable supplements that don’t gag me every time I take them

My high speed Internet connection

Real Simple, In Style, Elle, Sunset, Vanity Fair, Rolling Stone, and yes, even People

The 70s, 80s, First Wave, Bridge, Jazz, Left, Bluegrass, Reggae, and NPR channels on Sirius Radio

The bunnies on our front lawn

The renegade fire engine red cardinal who enjoys the bird seed in the back yard

My asthma puffer that saves me when I start to wheeze

Tillamook extra sharp cheddar cheese, salami, and pretzel goldfish

A hot shower in the morning

And, a glass of wine in my favorite glass after a long day

So much to give thanks for and for these things I am grateful. Happy Thanksgiving everyone!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

