Lessons from the Boy with the Green Hair

One of the movies that my mom always mentioned as I was growing up was “The Boy with the Green Hair”. It’s a rather obscure movie from 1948 that starred 12 year old Dean Stockwell. Yep, the same Dean Stockwell that grew up to star in movies like Blue Velvet and Married to the Mob, as well as the TV show Quantum Leap.

Anyway, The Boy with the Green Hair is certainly about having a really bad hair day. But, it’s also about the intolerance of people who are different, as well as about self-discovery and making a difference. Although, this movie is over 60 years old, it has some pretty modern-day themes.

This week, I was recognized by the Huffington Post because of the challenges that I overcame several years ago, and what I’ve been able to accomplish since then. I’m doing my best to make a difference in my community and to help others. Our family went through a series of life-altering situations in a really short span of time, but we made it through them. These were the types of problems that could have hit any family.

So, after the story was published, I began to think about the people in my life – who supported us during this tough time and who bailed. And yes, there were a number of so-called friends who bailed. Although I didn’t chat openly about what was happening to us at the time, it was impossible to hide the fact that we were hit with a layoff, a child in the hospital, and my need to return to work. Those who bailed on us weren’t the individuals with whom I shared a strong bond or much in common. No, it was the neighborhood group of moms who turned out to be the fair weather friends. Three years later, I can’t say I miss their friendships. However, I do miss the opportunity for my boys to be in a cohesive community.

That being said, I am extremely grateful for the friends who stuck with us through the difficulties and for the many new friends who we have met since. I see former friends every day as some live nearby. With some, I can share pleasantries, and with others, it’s more of a cold stare. Yet, I look at them now and feel no anger. Rather, I am sad that they have such limited acceptance of others. I was apparently worthy when I was a stay-at-home mom who didn’t work, but when our situation changed, I didn’t meet their qualifications.

So, like the boy with the green hair, I had to accept being different in a community where diversity isn’t particularly appreciated. Now, the irony is that I’m being given publicity because of it. So, I’m happy to be free of the fair weather friends. Like us, they too will have times in their lives when they are challenged and could use the support of friends. And when this does happen, they might have a change of heart about tolerance.

And now the theme song from The Boy with the Green Hair – Nature Boy. Sung by Nat King Cole for the movie, this version is by Pomplamoose –  a duo from the Bay Area. Take a listen.

3 Comments

Filed under entrepreneurs, moms, small business, public relations

3 responses to “Lessons from the Boy with the Green Hair

  1. Mom

    Thanks Julie…not quite Nat King Cole, but a beautiful modern day version. By the way, I have the Nat King Cole version on my IPod. Listen to it all the time while I walk Marty. It has to be my all time favorite. I guess I am showing my age to say I saw the movie at age 5.
    I love your Blog. Keep up the good work and the great music videos.
    Mom

  2. Hi. I really like this post and the song! I especially like that it’s performed by a lesser-known, probably unsigned band.

    Read your story in the Huffington Post. It’s very inspiring. I too am struggling and don’t have family/friends to help. So I’ve set up a web site for my own small business. However, in this economy, customers are going with the “tried and true”– large, established companies. Do you have any advice on how to get customers for those of us who are just starting out?

    I’m a writer/editor looking to go beyond freelance to full-time, stay-at-home writer. I’ve checked out e-lance and guru but it looks like a lot of people from the Philippines are willing to work for $3 per hour, and I’m not willing to lower my standards to that. I’ve also noticed that oDesk takes screen shots of writers as they work. That’s a little too Big Brother for me. Besides, all my work isn’t being done in front of a computer. I might spend time thinking over a project before I begin typing or even hand-writing some ideas that inspire me while I’m out and about.

    Hope this isn’t a question that’s too personal, but how did you get your first few customers? I have two web sites: PromoU.webs.com and MusicalWeddings.webs.com

  3. Hi Meri:

    Thanks for commenting on the blog. I found many clients on Elance, but I was always selective about which projects to bid on. I stayed away from all those that seemed to only want $3.00 an hour labor. There are lots of legit businesses on there and other sites who are willing to pay a fair price for good quality work. I network, use social media, and tell everyone I meet that I have a business. If you stay focused and work toward your goal every day, you’ll start getting clients. Then, they’ll refer others, and before you know it, you’ll have more work than you can handle!

Leave a Reply

