The Benefits of Blogging

Occasionally, someone asks me why I have a blog. These are usually the individuals who don’t spend much time online. I try to explain the SEO benefits, the desire to build a community, and my love of writing. Some then understand my efforts, and of course, there are those naysayers who think I’m wasting my time. Whatever!

In the past year since starting The Entrepreneurial Mom, literally thousands of people have read my posts. I have given advice to other moms who wanted to know how I started my business. I’ve encouraged other small business owners. I’ve attracted new business, and I hope I’ve made a few people think or even laugh with some of my posts. WordPress sent me the stats of what I accomplished with the blog last year. Here are just a few of the results.

My blog was viewed just over 12,000 times in 2010. That’s equivalent to 29 full 747s.

I wrote 120 blog posts and uploaded 197 photos.

The busiest day for my blog was December 9th when I received 655 views.

Not too bad, hunh?

Will I keep blogging in 2011? Definitely! I’ve started two new blogs that I’m anxious to see succeed, as well.

One Local Family which focuses on our family’s pledge to not buy from national retailers and restaurants for a year.

And,

Rock Your Business – this is a venture with my friend Adrian Miller where we will be sharing business lessons learned from rockstars.

I highly encourage all small business owners to take the time to blog. It has been a thoroughly rewarding experience for me and has dramatically helped my business. If you’re not sure where to start, send me an email, and I’ll share some tips to help you get going.

And, I hope you’ll follow along this year with my blogs, and I promise to keep my posts interesting and thought-provoking.     

1 Comment

Filed under entrepreneurs, moms, small business, public relations

One response to “The Benefits of Blogging

  1. Julie, You are right on when it comes to blogging. It shows the world that you are authentic.

    Thanks for being such an inspirational mom.

    Congratulations to you for being “Today’s HuffPost Greatest Person,” http://tiny.cc/uipzw

    Laney

Leave a Reply

