Orange Blossoms and Business in Bloom

Last night, I received a heartfelt email from a reader of this blog thanking me for a post I wrote about six months ago. It reminded me that I need to keep up with my writing – even when I’m short on time.

So, I’m going to try and make more of an effort for The Entrepreneurial Mom Blog. It’s therapeutic for me to write about being a mom and a business owner, and maybe, just maybe, I’m helping out or entertaining a few people out there.

Last Wednesday, Rex became a 7 year old, and just as always, the orange blossoms bloomed on his birthday.  For those of you who don’t live in Arizona, the smell of orange blossoms is an amazing aroma of spring that prevails for about a month before the stifling summer heat begins to set in.

To me, orange blossoms remind me of when I first became a mom and why I wanted to become a business owner. How distinctly, I remember leaving the hospital with Rex when he was two days old being nearly overwhelmed by the scent of orange blossoms.

When Rex was exactly one year old, I decided to start my own business so that I could stay home with him. Perhaps, the orange blossoms were calling me yet again to begin another new adventure.

Seven years have passed since I left the hospital with Rex, and I’m more driven and focused than ever before. My purpose is clear – to be there for my family while also growing a business that will help provide for their future.  The orange blossoms are in bloom and continue to serve as a reminder to stay focused on nurturing both my family and my business.

I have several new business ventures I’m working on right now, and I’m still enjoying working with my existing clients. The orange blossoms are perhaps a sign of another new chapter in the life of this mom.

Song of the Day: Orange Blossom Special

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

