In the Driver’s Seat

ford_pinto_3_75One of my favorite fellow “freelance writers” publicly told off a client today on Facebook. From what I could gather from his description of the situation, the client deserved it.  In all honesty, I found his use of social media to portray this drama as honest, funny, and somewhat thought-provoking.

If you are a small business owner or freelancer, you will inevitably run into a situation where you have to let go of a client. Sometimes, the person is just downright rude, and it’s a pleasure to give them the boot. On other occasions, it’s someone you like, but they simply aren’t paying you enough. Either way, it is incredibly empowering to be in the driver’s seat – making the decisions about who you work with and who you don’t.  And, I think this position of power is a big differentiator between employees and business owners.

As an employee, you are forced to put up with the good, the bad, and the ugly. As a business owner, you have ample leeway to pick and choose. Does this reality make business owners less tolerant and unable to play in the sandbox with others? Perhaps. Can business owners ever go back to the world of regular, full-time employment once they get a taste of being able to handpick who they work with?

I think I know my answer…

After spending the last five months working full-time for one client and finding that my tolerance level for fellow employees wasn’t what it used to be, I’m starting to believe that once you’ve become a business owner, it’s pretty darn tough to go back to the everyday dramas of office life.

There may be a bit more security in being an employee, and of course, there are those extra-added perks of employment like health insurance, profit sharing, and bonuses. But, are the perks worth the headache of having to deal day in and day out with people you don’t like?

From my vantage point now, I’m thinking that I’d rather be in the driver’s seat of a 70s Pinto rather than a passenger in a luxury sedan filled with irritating peeps.

Kudos to my fellow writer friend who nixed a bad apple today! I’m sure that there’s a good client waiting in the wings.

Song of the Day: Driver’s Seat, Sniff’n the Tears

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

