The Beautiful Randomness of Self Employment

Randomness_1Every once in a while I am posed a question that I’m sure all small business owners get asked. “What would you do if someone offered you a tremendous (fill in the blank with some outrageous dollar amount) salary to go work for a company as an employee.

Obviously, I answered this question several months back when I went to go work as a director of marketing for a consumer product company in the Bay Area. I took the bait. Sure, the consistent money was a good thing – as Martha Stewart would say. But, the repetitiveness of having to work exclusively for one client was personally a drag for me.

Needless to say, the contract ended, and I’m back in action jumping from project to project on a daily basis, and you know what? I couldn’t be happier. For me, I crave and need variety in my work.

Perhaps, it was my formative years working as a data entry clerk, mail sorter, and PBX operator at the San Mateo County Office of Education that has made me so adverse to monotony. Given the fact that both my parents worked at the County, it was a given that I was to spend my junior and senior years in high school toiling away in General Services in the basement of the government building. The work was tedious to say the least. I certainly developed a strong work ethic there. But, I also grew a real distaste for monotonous tasks.

From the basement of the San Mateo County Office of Education, the motivation and inspiration for entrepreneurship sprouted. Funny how life works, isn’t it?

Skipping forward 25+ years, I get to write and create for a living. I work with tremendously interesting companies and inspiring fellow business owners. The work is random to say the least. For example, this week, I am beginning on a social media/PR project for a woman who is rowing across the Pacific to raise awareness for bird conservation. I am writing about testosterone boosters for a manufacturer of natural supplements. There’s that 37 page website that I’m finishing up for a personal injury attorney in Los Angeles, and how about that growing startup that is having me write SEO guides to bring traffic to their site.

Needless to say, I’m never bored, always interested in what I’m doing, and incredibly fortunate to be given such amazing opportunities.

There is definitely a beautiful randomness to being a small business owner, and for those of us who can see the beauty, there’s simply no alternative.

Today’s Song of the Day Is a Random Jazzy One: Poinciana, Ahmad Jamal

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “The Beautiful Randomness of Self Employment

  1. Does your website have a contact page? I’m having problems locating it but, I’d like to send you an email.
    I’ve got some suggestions for your blog you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great website and I look forward to seeing it expand over time.

  2. Being self employed is challenging, but that’s the best part about it!

Leave a Reply

