A New Place to Hang My Framed K-Tel Record Album Covers

ktelLast week, I moved. On an unusually blustery Friday punctuated by a surprise downpour of hail, I, along with two burly movers, loaded up a truck and headed to our new abode.

For the last eight years, I’ve run my business out of a spare bedroom. It was cramped, and I was often distracted by street noise, the droning hum of gardeners’ blowers, and other sundry sounds that prevented me from being as productive as I could be. Oh yes, there were those few months a couple of years back when I decided to pay for office space at the local sound studio. Unfortunately, the owner who promised me that the place would be quiet during the daytime hours was not quite as honest as she could have been. At least I did get to see some cool local rock and rollers while trying to knock out technical white papers from my little corner of the studio.

Back to present day. I’m now living on a one+ acre horse property. It’s a decidedly different style of living. The house is older than I am, and that’s not such a bad thing. It’s solid and built for a family with three bedrooms and, and…. And, an office for me!

This business owner now has an official office, and boy oh boy, it feels different. Really different. The productivity is soaring, the creativity is blooming, and I can leave my office at the end of the day and put my work aside to focus on other things like being a mom and a friend, cooking, reading, and enjoying this crazy backyard that holds stables, a horse run, a pool, and enough land that it could officially be called a park.

So, I’m nearly done moving in and just have to hammer nails into the walls to hang my eclectic collection of art that contains my two favorite K-Tel albums framed. Those remind me of the disco dancing, fun gal that I used to be. I’m thinking this change of scenery will inspire some more fun and some disco dancing, too. Heaven know, we all need to do the Hustle every once in a while!

Song of the Day: Ain’t No Stopping Us Now – McFadden and Whitehead

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “A New Place to Hang My Framed K-Tel Record Album Covers

  1. Hi, I understand what you mean about your favorite record album covers. I collect album covers and also have a website that I thought you might enjoy that is just about album covers: Great Album Covers at http://greatalbumcovers.com/
    Good luck with your new office and I hope you enjoy my website.

    Mike

Leave a Reply

