I Guess I’m Never Going to Be a Solid Gold Dancer

solid goldI’m turning 44 this week, and because I’m in flux in certain aspects of my life right now, I’m in a particularly contemplative mood. I wonder if everyone in their 40s feels this way at some point.

I’ve accomplished a few things here and there, but not necessarily what I thought I would. At 18, I was sure that I was going to become a French teacher or a chef or a designer. Little did I know that 25 years later I would be writing online content and managing my own little business in Scottsdale of all places. Online content didn’t exist back then, and I had never been to Arizona.

My life has certainly had its fair share of twist and turns. I guess it all makes for good fodder for that future book (not sure if it would be a romance, mystery, or self help!).

As I get ready to hit the big 44, I thought I’d share some of my random thoughts…

I’ve learned a lot, but I still make plenty of mistakes.

I don’t necessarily feel any smarter or wiser – just maybe a bit more confident about my decisions.

I look in the mirror, and I think I look the same, but I’m sure I don’t.

Every once in a while, I hear a song I know all of the words to and think to myself, “Holy crap, this is 30 years or gosh, even 40 years old!”

I realize that I’m probably not going to live to be 100. There’s a reason why Willard Scott features centenarians on the Today Show. There just aren’t that many of them!

Being a mom is the most important accomplishment of my life, and hopefully through my boys, my spirit will continue on long after I’m gone. At least, the memory of my chocolate cake will.

If I don’t stop eating (ice cream, tortilla chips, Trader Joe wasabi almonds, etc.) I will soon be on Lipitor.

I’m a product of my family, but I no longer feel that my family history is driving my day-to-day existence.

I’m glad that I’ve traveled a lot. Although, I’d like to wipe away from my memory a few particularly disturbing travel experiences.

I’m not perfect, and no one else is either. However, there are plenty of people out there who truly believe they are!

It’s too late for me to become an Olympic athlete, a Solid Gold dancer, or the President, but I still have time to write a best-selling novel, join a band, or train for a marathon. Who knows?

I’m increasingly grateful each day for the friends and family that I have.

There’s hopefully at least 40 more years to go, and I’m riding on the wings of maybe.

Song of the Day: Ten Years Gone

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “I Guess I’m Never Going to Be a Solid Gold Dancer

  1. I have always liked this one as well as When the levee breaks and Going to California. I enjoyed this autobioblog Julie:)

  2. Julie. Love this song as well as so many other LZ. Great autobioblog. Enjoyed

Leave a Reply

