Keeping My Head Up to Watch the Road

deep-thoughts-by-jack-handey-screen-grab%20(1)Today I’m having a deep “Jack Handey” like thought that I’m sharing on my blog well, because I can. Every once in a while I feel the need to write these down so that I can review them at a later date and ponder what I was thinking at the time I wrote them. Usually I can’t remember. Here’s today’s “Deep Thought.”

If you had asked me 10 years ago about the future path of my life, I would have been very certain about it. I was already married and owned a house. I was getting ready to start a family, and things were crystal clear – so I thought.

Of course, life doesn’t always stay on track. Fortunately, I was blessed with two wonderful boys. But, everything else that I thought was a certainty a decade ago ended up being not quite so permanent. There have been a whole series of twists and turns – many negative and a few amazingly positive. Yet, I’ve had to navigate through them and keep moving forward.

What I’ve learned from this chaos…

You have to keep your head up and stay focused on the road ahead with unwavering discipline. Getting blue or looking back at the past is akin to driving and texting at the same time. Head down and not paying attention to what’s in front of you is a recipe for disaster in driving and life.

This little lesson applies to pretty much every role in my life – a mom, a business owner, a friend, a cook, a writer, etc.

There are plenty of people, things, and situations along the way that can take your attention off the road. It’s easy to get side-tracked by a text message just as it is by someone or something that diverts your attention away from what you’re supposed to be focused on. Sometimes, you have to put life’s distractions on mute, so that you can get from point A to point B safely.

So, I continue to map out my path for where I want to go. But without a doubt, after ten years of being on a windy road, I’m ready to enjoy some straight, smooth highway where I can keep my eyes focused.

Alright, I got that off my chest, and I’m ready to start my day.

Song of the Day

Life is a Highway, Tom Cochrane

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

