It Just Takes a Mustard Seed

mustard(1)When I was a little girl, my grandma gave me a glass pendant on a silver chain. Inside the pendant was a tiny mustard seed. She told me it was for good luck, and I never really thought much about it for decades. But, I faithfully wore the pendant pretty much every day of my life. I’m not one for costume jewelry, and very much prefer to wear meaningful pieces such as the ol’ mustard seed.

Through the years, I had been asked about it, and I always exclaimed it was for good luck. Sometimes, I would elaborate and say it was Chinese. I really didn’t know what it symbolized, but Chinese sounded pretty good.  How little I knew… Two years ago, someone very special came into my life  who has also filled me in on what the meaning of the mustard seed really is in so many ways.

For those like me who didn’t grow up with religious education, the mustard seed is in a biblical parable in three gospels – Matthew, Mark, and Luke.

Basically, the message is this… The Kingdom of Heaven is like a grain of mustard seed, which a man took, and sowed in his field; which indeed is smaller than all seeds. But when it is grown, it is greater than the herbs, and becomes a tree, so that the birds of the air come and lodge in its branches.”

From my limited interpretive skills, I think this means that from a little faith can come great things that are firmly rooted in their beginnings.

Whether you are religious, an atheist, or somewhere in between, isn’t always better to have faith than to not? …To trust that what should happen will happen. That you can rely on others and yourself. That by staying positive and working hard, you’ll get where you need to go.

Thanks to Grandma for sharing with me a tiny seed of faith. It has turned out to be far more than a lucky charm, and instead a  guiding reminder to keep on keeping on.

Song of the Day: Safe and Sound, Capital Cities

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

